Followers

Now on Instagram!

Instagram

Follow by Email

Be a Social Blogger

Thursday, December 12, 2013

*[Blog Tour Review] The Advent of Murder (Faith Morgan Mystery #2) by Martha Ockley

The Advent of Murder (Faith Morgan Mystery #2)
 
Summary:
 
Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murder.

Though busy with preparations for Christmas, Faith is called on to investigate when it's found out that the victim is also a member of her congregation--Lucas Kemp, a member of the choir.

Faith's informal inquiries lead her to uncover a hotbed of tensions and romantic rivalries in the choir, questions about drugs, and a run-in with an unsavory uncle--which leads to a dramatic rescue by Ben, Faith's former detective partner and ex-boyfriend.

In the tradition of Father Brown and Miss Marple, The Advent of Murder brings readers an authentic picture of English rural and church life combined with a satisfying mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 224 pages (Paperback)
Source: Review Copy
Available Formats: Print/E-book
Publication Date: August 19th 2013 by Lion Fiction
 
To me the autumn and winter are the times that I read the most mysteries and now as I'm getting older and am experimenting with more new to me authors and I've come to find that I really enjoy cozy British mysteries.
 
The Advent of Murder is the second novel in the Faith Morgan Mystery series and I enjoyed it very much although I would recommend reading the first book in the series first because I never had a chance to before this tour and while following the story was not difficult, I felt as though I was missing some information about Faith that I would have liked to see.
 
I thought that the Advent of Murder was a quick, well written quaint British mystery with a wonderful setting and a very well written sleuth. At first I wasn't sure what to think of Faith because as I said I felt like I was missing things about her since I hadn't read the first book but she did grow on me and by the end of the novel I thought she was wonderful.
 
The writing was also very good. Since this was the first book I've read by the author and I loved the story line because it had a more depth than I thought it would and the mystery aspect was very well fleshed out.
 
Overall, I had some issues with the book, sometimes I thought it got a little slow, and I wish the author made the characters a little more detailed. However, despite that, I thought it was still well written and I look forward to reading another book by this author soon.
 
I highly recommend this series to fans of cozy British mysteries who want a new series to try and a read set in a quiet and quaint town.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my free and honest review. All thoughts and opinions expressed herein are 100% my own.
 
I read this book for the following reading challenges:
 
2013 150+ Reading Challenge
2013 Mystery/Crime Reading Challenge
 
Really Enjoyed It!
★★★★

 
To purchase the book via Amazon CLICK HERE
To purchase the book via Kobo CLICK HERE
To purchase the book via The Book Depository CLICK HERE
To purchase the book via Barnes & Noble CLICK HERE
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17593765-the-advent-of-murder?ac=1

.
 

2 comments:

  1. I am a fan of cozy mysteries set in Britain. If I see this book at the library, I will have to check it out.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'll have to see if my library has the first book, thanks!

    ReplyDelete

I love your comments! So feel free to comment away I'll try to answer every post so check back! . Also feel free to leave a link to your blog and I will absolutely follow you back :) Happy Reading!
*Note: This is an award free blog, thanks for thinking of me but I simply don't have the time to pass it along!