Followers

Now on Instagram!

Instagram

Follow by Email

Be a Social Blogger

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #66




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking The Spine and is where we can talk about books we are looking forward to being released!

Here are my picks for the week:
 

Carpathian: An Event Group Thriller
 
Summary:
 
The Event Group tackles their most challenging mission yet in this no-holds-barred thrill ride from the New York Times bestselling author of Ripper and Legacy



Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, James Rollins, and Matthew Reilly, the latest gripping thriller from David L. Golemon takes the Event Group---the nation’s most secret agency---to the brink in a heart-stopping race against time.

            Rumors of the seemingly magical victory that allowed the Exodus of Israelites from Egypt have resonated through the archaeological world for decades. Now evidence has been discovered that points to a new explanation of how the ancient Hebrews destroyed the unstoppable army of Pharaoh with a tribe of warriors who disappeared a generation later, after the destruction of the City of Jericho, taking with them the most valued treasures of a people without a homeland.

Today a treasure of a different kind is unearthed at the lost ruins of Jericho, one that will change the history of God’s Chosen People for all time—the petrified remains of an animal that could not exist. Enter the Event Group. Led by Col. Jack Collins, the Group's brilliant men and women gather to discover the truth behind not only the Exodus, but also the magnificent animals that led the defeat of Pharoah’s army. On a whirlwind race to save the most valuable treasure and artifacts in the history of the world from those who would destroy them, the Event Group will come face-to-face with every myth, legend, and historical truth that has ever unfolded in the mythic and larger-than-life Carpathians---or as the area was once known, Transylvania, the land of Vlad the Impaler.

The newest pulse-pounding installment in the New York Times bestselling Event Group Series, Carpathian pushes the limits of suspense, where every chapter contains new twists and revelations in this exciting, page-turning read.
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com 
Length: 448 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: July 30th 2013 by Thomas Dunne Books
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
This is the 8th book in the Event Group Series and it's one that I love. I 'm a big fan of the series and it's one that I started reading on a whim but one I find addictive and can't wait to read this newest installment when it comes out.
 
Twenty Trillion Leagues Under The Sea
 
Summary:
 
It is 1955. Funded, in part, by a reclusive Swiss millionaire and working -- it is claimed -- from Nemo's actual blueprints discovered in India, the French Navy build a replica Nautilus. Crewed with sailors and scientists, and commanded by the short-tempered Captain Mason, it is launched in great secrecy from Bayonne. Almost as soon as it is underwater, however, and having passed beyond the Continental Shelf, an accident (or sabotage!) sends it plummeting towards the ocean floor. The crew desperately attempt repairs as the pressure builds, threatening to crush the entire craft. But then something very strange happens: despite the fact that they are still descending, the pressure equalises. The descent continues for days; soon passing the 5000m depth that ought to mark the bottom of the ocean. As days turn to weeks, the mystery of their plight only grows deeper: for they pass hundreds and soon thousands kilometres of 'depth' with no ill effects. Other constraints press upon them: particularly the need to find food, and conserve fuel. Pressures amongst the all-male crew intensify as well, approaching breaking point as weeks pass, and the depth becomes measurable in millions of kilometres. Are they dead, trapped in an eternal descent to Hell? Have they passed through some portal into a realm of infinite water? Or have they somehow stumbled upon -- or been deliberately lead to, via the mysterious Indian blueprint -- some truth about the world too profound even to be measured in trillions?
Then, when they think all hope is lost, and as they approach the trillionth kilometre of depth, they see light below them ...
Summary & Cover taken from Goodreads.com
Length: 320 pages (Hardcover)
Expected Publication Date: October 17th 2013 by Gollancz
 
Why I'm Waiting:
 
I'm a HUGE Jules Verne fan and I love reading books that adapt and use his characters in a new way so I'm very excited about this one and I'm hoping Mr. Turning the Pages buys this one for me when it comes out.
 
 
 
What are YOU waiting for this Wednesday?

 
 
 
 

 

8 comments:

  1. Carpathian looks really good :) I've not heard of it before, but it sounds like my kind of book!

    Janina
    My WW!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great choices! Twenty Trillion Leagues is one I'm waiting for too but I haven't heard of the other series at all, about to buy the first book to try it :)

    My WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Two great picks! I spotted Carpathian on NetGalley the other day, and I've been waiting on Twenty Trillion Leagues for a while now.

    Here's my WOW for the week.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ive never heard of these but they sounds good. Thanks for sharing.
    my WoW

    ReplyDelete
  5. Awesome picks! They sound really great! I'll have to add them to the TBR

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

    ReplyDelete
  6. "Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler"? WHERE is this series and where can I get a hold of it?? That's real exciting, thanks for letting me know about it!

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  7. Great picks! Both sound really interesting!
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  8. These both sound really good. See what I'm waiting on here
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

    ReplyDelete

I love your comments! So feel free to comment away I'll try to answer every post so check back! . Also feel free to leave a link to your blog and I will absolutely follow you back :) Happy Reading!
*Note: This is an award free blog, thanks for thinking of me but I simply don't have the time to pass it along!